Homemade Carpet Powder

We’ve been caring for our friends’ rabbit for a couple months now.  They’re not allowed to have him in their current apartment, so we’ll have him until they can move in to a pet-friendly apartment.  We used to have him in our dining room, but when our dining room got its makeover, I moved him to our son’s room.  Our son just loves to play with him and hang out with him.  Of course his room is more confined than the open space of our dining room, so I started to notice that he really made the room smell more than he did in the dining room.  I wanted to find a way to help with the smell without having to move him back to the dining room.

I found a post on Pinterest for this homemade carpet powder so I decided to try it.  It’s supposed to help eliminate pet odors in the carpet.

All you have to do is mix baking soda (I used an entire 16 oz box because it fit in the container perfect) with a few drops of essential oil (I used orange).  I would just use your own judgement on the oil. I wisked them together in a bowl and then spooned the mixture in to an old parmesan cheese shaker.

Well, after making the powder and sprinkling it on the floor, waiting (WAY longer than I needed to, but I got distracted) about an hour and then vacuuming up the powder, his room smelled amazing!  I couldn’t even tell the rabbit was there!  Even a day later I can hardly smell the rabbit.  This stuff did an amazing job and it was CHEAP!

I bought the 16 oz box of baking soda for $.50 and the essential oil I’ve had for a while.  I used about 1/3 of the container in my son’s room, which is 10 ft x 11 ft.  Depending on how long it lasts, I plan to do this a few times a week.  I’m still just shocked that this was all I needed to make my own carpet powder.  The real stuff can get so expensive!

Next, keep an eye out for my post on homemade “Cream of Something Soup” dry mix!

Leave a Reply

